March 28, 2006

  • singin’ the XANGA blues…

    just in case anyone out there is wondering, i haven’t posted lately because with the latest “upgrade” on xanga, i can no longer upload photos on xanga from home. my browser here is not supported. i can upload from work, but that’s not convenient all the time. hopefully next month i’ll be up to OSX (mac) and things will be back to normal.

    here’s a post from 2 years ago today. i entered this in the annual photo contest in town, but didn’t win this year. i still really like the shot.

    Because the soul has such deep roots in personal and social life and its values run so
    contrary to modern concerns, caring for the soul may well turn out to be a radical act,
    a challenge to accepted norms.
    Thomas Moore

Comments (16)

  • My God! The image opened and I gasped! This is truly beautiful, in its despair, its minimalism, in its broken state…it’s absolutely moving.

  • what kind of tree is that?

  • And the roots of a soul go far deeper than that I think.

    Amazing picture that one is.

  • Just beautiful wish you could continue uploading your pictures could you not just download a browser just for pictures on Xanga, Judi

  • oh yes… i adore this. very much. trees and roots and branches… nature, in general is just the grandest subject.

  • Molly, I love the way this picture kept going and going as I scrolled down the page to look at it. I use a MAC and I use Mozilla for Xanga (oh, wait I just went to the Mozilla page and they are using OSX). I actually use several different browsers for different things, some work better than others. It’s very interesting.

    You’ve probably already seen this but just in case you haven’t, here it is:
    MAC browsers compatible with Xanga

  • Hey, just coming here to leave you so random props and say check this out, it is 100 percent legit.

    The reason I am sending you this comment is because if you sign up using my referal then I make 20% of the money you make, without you losing any of course.

    But anyways you get paid to do surveys and if you dont think it is real go ahead and check it out for yourself. the 40 cent to a dollar surveys are the normal free ones.

    Here is the link:

    http://www.treasuretrooper.com/44616

    Im just asking you to help me help you.

    Thanks alot!

    -Justin

  • The bw contrast makes this shot speak to me. Thanks for re-posting it. BTW, you are going to love OSX.

  • Roots….I don’t seem to have them here. Sigh….maybe it is supposed to be so! Have fun….and a new ‘puter? You lucky dog! BTW, I LOVE macs!

  • well done.. I think this image is well balanced.. with how much root you showed Vs. dirt.. works very well.

  • I remember this photo!! It’s still striking! I have issues with loading photos now too. It’s a bit annoying.

  • People try so hard to be radical, and forget all about the reason why the need is there.

    ====

    If xanga is something that you’re missing terribly much, and the problem is something that will go on longer than you want – I have an alternative that I’ll share with you for a bit.

    But somehow, I doubt that you’re too terribly disturbed by the inconvenience.  You strike me as a patient woman.  This isn’t in the way for you at all, is it.

  • First of all your work is fantastic! And Yes at some point I would love to purchase a couple…Great price too! I love the roots…they really resonate with me especially now being here where I love it.

    What part of NM did you live in? I LOVE it here in Taos! But the move has not been an easy one; I am eating a lot of beans and tortillas it’s a good thing that I love them, oh yeah and I’m sleeping on an air mattress. So yes for us mere mortals. it is a difficult task…but what is the alternative? Living has it’s difficulties…so if it is going to be difficult…it may as well benefit us in the long run. Time will pass us, years will continue to add up and in the end we die.

    An artist that I know, and deeply admire, built her first art studio when she was 76; right after her husband passed. She took up Butoh dancing (a Japanese stamping dance, very emotional, beautiful and but difficult to watch sometimes.) She also does rhythmic and interpretive dance, plays the African DJEMBE drums. She paints and just now at 83 is learning to do lithographs. She raised five kids and took one art class a semester; taking her 10 years to get her degree in art. Compared to her I am a sloth but I aspire to be much more. Ann calls her approach to life “ A drop in the bucket” saying that eventually it will be full.

    And about the smilies they are free, just click on one of mine and you can use them too…I love em…I would sell them if I could. LOL

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  • you should have won.  That’s an awesome shot.

  • Love the roots picture. With April coming up, it reminded me of a couple of quotes:

    If art is to nourish the roots of our culture, society must set the artist free to follow his vision wherever it takes him.
    ==John Fitzgerald Kennedy

    April is the cruelest month, breeding
    Lilacs out of the dead land, mixing
    Memory and desire, stirring
    Dull roots with spring rain.
    ==T.S.Eliot, The Waste Land

  • It and the quote are equally intriguing, but I imagine photo contests aren’t really created to show off roots.  Sad – this is a striking image.  Hope you cure the Xanga blues soon.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *