Month: October 2003

  • Q: What do you call a nervous witch?
    A: A twitch

  • I never saw an ugly thing in my life: for let the form of an object be what it may –
    light, shade, and perspective will always make it beautiful.
    John Constable

  • In contrast to my last entry of a spectacular sunset, this is how is looked yesterday from my back porch. Eleven fires are burning in Southern California…we are safe here in Long Beach, but so many are suffering and we are all feeling the impact as ash covers our sidewalks and cars, and the air is thick and smells of smoke. I pray for rain.

  • Sunset somewhere between Long Beach, California and Las Vegas, Nevada

    The things that we have and that we think are so solid – they’re like smoke, and time is like the sky that the smoke disappears into … nothing is left but the sky, and the sky keeps on being just the same forever. Booth Tarkington

  • One of my best friends dogs, Keisha

    Life is like a dogsled team. If you ain’t the lead dog, the scenery never changes. Lewis Grizzard

  • Taken on the way home from Vegas last night.

    What makes the desert beautiful is that somewhere it hides a well. Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

  • This is the view out my office window here at home. I live on the second story of a duplex…
    lots of birds keep me company

    Simple pleasures are the last refuge of the complex. Oscar Wilde

  • Art is born of the observation and investigation of nature. Cicero

  • Cliffs overlooking Cabrillo Beach, San Pedro, California

    At the bottom no one in life can help anyone else in life; this one experiences over and over in every conflict and every perplexity: that one is alone. That isn’t as bad as it may first appear; and again it is the best thing in life that each should have everything in himself; his fate, his future, his whole expanse and world. Rainer Maria Rilke

  • Caught in a Sea of Desire

    Whenever I’m caught between two evils, I take the one I’ve never tried. Mae West