Month: January 2003



  • Never be afraid to sit awhile and think. Lorraine Hansberry, A Raisin in the Sun



  • Originally I had this photo in mind after I read Vcrimson’s blog and how she said she wanted to take a photo of a rainbow but didn’t get to, so I thought I would give her this one! I then read Very Modern and she mentioned something about Gemini’s and prisms…what does it all mean?



  • …but while wandering, you experience a kind of mysteriously organic process. It’s like a tree growing. It doesn’t know where it’s growing next. A branch may grow out this way, then that way, and then another way. If you let it be that way and don’t have pressures from outside, when you look back, you’ll see that this will have been an organic development. Excerpt from Reflections on the Art of Living, A Joseph Campbell Companion



  • IcePik No.15

    Because I am a goddess, I will come to your heaven, and lie on your cloud…Let my hovel be our heaven, let my bed be our cloud, on which we are united in perfect, heavenly bliss. Poetry of ancient Egypt



  • I refuse to accept the view that mankind is so tragically bound to the starless midnight of racism and war that the bright daybreak of peace and brotherhood can never become reality. I believe that unarmed truth and unconditional love will have the final word. Martin Luther King, Jr.

    The aliens are gone! I can post again!! Can you believe it? 5 days of nothing and then all the sudden BAM I could make an entry…thanks everyone for hangin around! This was my original quote for last Monday on MLK day. Better late than never I think. This angel is atop the Sir George-Étienne Cartier monument btw on Mont Royal.

  • This site has been hijacked by aliens!

    DO NOT PANIC!

    We are FRIENDLY aliens!

    And once you get to know us,
    we won’t be ‘aliens’ anymore, will we!


    Seriously folks: This is an earthling representative speaking for Southland,
    who wishes to inform you that due to some mysterious Xanga bug,
    she is unable to post in her own account (although I am! ).
    The Xanga Gods are working on resolving the issue.
    Please be patient. Your normally scheduled programming
    should return soon!



  • IcePik No.14

    One doesn’t discover new lands without consenting to lose sight of the shore for a very long time. Andre Gide



  • Beauty in things exist in the mind which contemplates them. David Hume



  • IcePik No.13

    On the back of a cartoon coaster, in the blue T.V. screen light I drew a map of Canada, oh Canada, with your face sketched on it twice. Oh, you’re in my blood like holy wine – you taste so bitter and so sweet, oh I could drink a case of you, darling, and I would still be on my feet, oh I would still be on my feet. From Joni Mitchell’s Blue album



  • If we have no peace, it is because we have forgotten that we belong to each other. Mother Teresa