Month: June 2008

  • Manzanita and lichen in the rain

    To return to my own trees, I went among them often, acknowledging their presence with a touch of my hand against their trunks. Ruskin Bond

  • Just for fun on my birthday

    My brother Lewis and I on McFaddin Beach, Texas. I’m guessing I was about 2 or 3 perhaps? My Mom will have to let us know.

    Youth is happy because it has the ability to see beauty. Anyone who keeps the ability to see beauty never grows old. Franz Kafka

  • Pacific Dogwood

    That delicate forest flower,
    With scented breath and look so like a smile,
    Seems, as it issues from the shapeless mould,
    An emanation of the indwelling Life,
    A visible token of the upholding Love,
    That are the soul of this great universe.
    William Cullen Bryant

    (I don’t know what kind of flower this is. I thought it was a Dogwood, but the shape of the petals isn’t the same. Please let me know if you think you can identify it!)