Month: February 2003



  • IcePik No.18

    It is only to the individual that a soul is given. Albert Einstein



  • Breaking out is following your bliss pattern, quitting the old place, starting your hero journey. Joesph Campbell



  • Everybody needs beauty as well as bread, places to play in and pray in, where nature may heal and give strength to body and soul. John Muir



  • There is a privacy about it which no other season gives you…. In spring, summer and fall people sort of have an open season on each other; only in the winter, in the country, can you have longer, quiet stretches when you can savor belonging to yourself. Ruth Stout



  • This is the view of the surrounding mountains from our cabin in Glen Sutton, Quebec. It’s about 60 miles southeast of Montreal. Pretty spectacular, eh? It didn’t snow much while we were there, but on the way home we ran into the blizzard! We had to dig out a place to park on the street before we could even park the truck! I think Montreal got 20 cm. Needless to say, my back is tired from shoveling, and I have had a cold for several days also…but, the time in the woods was fabulous! I especially enjoyed the quiet – quite a contrast to the busy street I live on. Speaking of contrast, how about that last shot I posted of true Urbanism versus today’s post?? That was a shot of one of the “rabbit holes” as I like to call ‘em. It’s a long escalator in the subway.



  • When the soul wishes to experience something, she throws an image of the experience out before her and enters into her own image. Meister Eckhart

    I’m off for a couple of days to a remote cabin in the woods! Be back soon!



  • This was taken while I was walking some of the many miles of underground mall/shopping areas in downtown Montreal yesterday. There is said to be 18 miles of underground shopping here. It is a large stained glass sculpture. I went and saw The Hours also…took 4 long escalators to get to the theatre! Superb movie btw!



  • I am certain of nothing but the holiness of the heart’s affections and the truth of imagination. What the imagination seizes as beauty must be truth – whether it existed before or not. John Keats

    Happy Valentine’s Day! Art Exhibit now on at ArtExchange



  • I have a great deal of company in the house, especially in the morning when nobody calls.
    Henry David Thoreau

    I am still tying to solve my ongoing hardware problem, so let’s keep our fingers crossed that I don’t have to replace my internal disk! If that happens then I’ll be down a few days…



  • May you never know hunger
    May you love with a full heart
    The light burn in your eyes

    May the fire be your friend
    And the sea rock you gently
    May the moon light your way
    Till the wind sets you free


    ~ Shriekback, “Cradle Song”